Tuesday, February 21, 2012

2012 Innovation of the Year Contest Winners

The Center for Innovation is pleased to announce the winners of the 2012 “Innovation of the Year” contest.

Each year this contest identifies and celebrates individuals and teams who have completed innovative projects in support of SLCC’s strategic priorities.

The overall winning proposal is forwarded to the League for Innovation in the Community College for national recognition.

This year’s winners are:

Innovation of the Year Overall Winner:

SLCC Community Writing Center’s Salt Lake Teens Write Program
Innovators: Elisa Stone, Andrea Malouf, Tiffany Rousculp & Stephanie Maenhardt

Not pictured: Stephanie Maenhardt

Excellence in Innovation Awards: 

Improving Student Engagement and Learning Through Faculty Collaboration and Use of Evolving Technology Innovators: Diana Ploeger & Ken Freeman 

Student Clinical Peer Mentoring in Didactic Education Innovators: Brenda K. Lyman, Barb Kloetzke, Cheryl Woodard

The SLCC “Innovation of the Year” overall winner will receive $3000 to advance their innovation, and two representatives from the team will be recognized at the League for Innovation Conference in March 2013. The two “Excellence in Innovation” Award winners will receive $500 to advance their innovative work at the College.

A special “thank you” to the selection committee who evaluated this year’s proposals: Tiffany Evans, Dean, School of Developmental Education & Learning Resources, David Bate, FTLC/Center for Innovation, Lorna Gwilliam, Student Services, Donna Western-Kruger, Staff Association, Shane Tang, Faculty Association, Richard Hemingway, Faculty Senate & Demi Brog, Student Leader/Representative.

Most importantly, thanks to all who submitted proposals to this year’s contest. Please continue to innovate and be on the lookout for projects to nominate for next year’s contest. This year’s winning proposals and details for next year’s contest will be posted at www.slcc.edu/innovation.