Monday, April 30, 2018

President Huftalin participates in Week of the Young Child reading challenge

Tiny Bruins from the Salt Lake Community College Eccles Early Childhood Development Lab gathered in President Huftalin’s office to read “If You Give A Mouse a Cookie” and “The Magician's Hat” for the statewide Read with a Child Challenge in line with the Utah Association for Educators of Young Children’s goals to encourage 25,000 leaders across the state to read with children.

Celebrated by the National Association for Educators of Young Children since 1971, the Week of the Young Child raises awareness nationwide of the needs of young children and the services that are available to meet these needs.

The Utah Association for Educators of Young Children challenge all community members to celebrate young learners by engaging with them in reading books. This effort will help ensure that every child in Utah experiences an environment that promotes learning at home, at childcare, in school and throughout the community. Anyone who participates in the challenge is encouraged to share photos and videos of them reading with children at

Thursday, April 26, 2018

C-SPAN Bus Visits South City

C-SPAN’s all new, state-of-the-art 45-foot customized motor coach is traveling the country to visit every state capital as part of C-SPAN’s 14-month "50 Capitals Tour," in partnership with its cable and satellite affiliates. The Bus made a stop at Salt Lake Community College's South City Campus. The C-SPAN Bus is a multimedia mobile classroom that engages with community members and elected officials to showcase C-SPAN's extensive political programming and educational resources.

The new high-tech, interactive C-SPAN Bus includes these upgraded resources:
  • Access to an exclusive interactive experience available on 11 large-screen tablets featuring C-SPAN programming and myriad of political and educational resources 
  • A smart TV and classroom area for conversations with students and teachers 
  • A high-definition TV production studio for taped and live programming 
  • A 360-degree video station featuring C-SPAN's unfiltered coverage of high-profile events and insightful, behind-the-scenes tours of U.S. landmarks 
  • A D.C.-themed selfie station where visitors can share their Bus experience through social media. 

Below are a few photos from the visit.

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Marlena B. Stanford Named 2019 Distinguished Faculty Lecturer

Marlena B. Stanford - Assistant Professor, English

The Distinguished Faculty Lecturer is a recognition of quality work by one of Salt Lake Community College’s full-time faculty, and a charge to develop that work over an academic year into a public presentation. A committee chosen by the associate provost for Learning Advancement selects the faculty lecturer each year. The lecture takes place in spring.

Marlena B. Stanford teaches students to see the writer in themselves. Some students take that lesson to a higher level. Stanford fondly recalls the immense satisfaction that came with teaching a “gifted rhetorician,” a student for who English was a second language. In course after course, Stanford watched the woman build confidence and gain versatility in her classroom as a speaker and writer.

Stanford's faculty lecture will explore, as a literate-rhetorical practice, the birthing stories of 10 local women. As an assistant professor of English at SLCC, Stanford emphasizes to students to never be afraid to ask for support. She is proud of the progress her department is making as she and her colleagues collaborate on improving literacy curricula for SLCC’s pre-transfer reading and writing students. Those efforts are helping students with increased confidence levels for reading and writing tasks as well as better overall rhetorical awareness.


Stanford earned her undergraduate and graduate degrees at Western State College of Colorado and Colorado State University. She is a member of several SLCC committees, including Integrated Reading and Writing, Open English @ SLCC, OER, and Inclusivity.