Tuesday, May 3, 2016

Faculty and staff win awards, earn recognition

Following are some of the awards and recognitions Salt Lake Community College staff and faculty have received in recent months.

Bob Burdette, director of the Salt Lake Community College Culinary Arts program, was awarded the 2015 Honorary Chef of the Year by the American Culinary Federation’s Beehive State Chefs chapter. Culinary arts assistant professor Chef Franco Aloia won the “Top Chef” competition in the Utah Food Bank 6th Annual Night at the Warehouse Gala.

Marketing Management assistant professor Ahmad Kareh received the 2016 Teaching Excellence Award for the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs Region 7.

Legal studies professor Monte Sleight was invited to serve on the Supreme Court Committee on Licensed Paralegal Practitioners.

School of Applied Technology faculty Doug Miller, Diego Pardo, Celeste Skinner, Julia Miller and Steven Fogg received the SLCC Innovation of the Year award in 2015 for their work on the CBE (Competency-Based Education) project in the SAT. They presented and were recognized for their award on the SLCC CBE project at the annual League for Innovation Conference in March 2016.

Ron Valcarce and Neil Bastian both won a Salute to Excellence award from the National American Chemical Society. The American Chemical Society club won the Outstanding Chapter award (the only community college in the U.S. to win it) and the Green Chemistry award. These awards are due to the leadership and advice of the all the chemistry department faculty and Associate Dean Peter Iles—faculty members are Lu Giddings, Ron Valcarce, Neil Bastian, Mary Alvarez and Ryan Holcomb.

Math professor Shawna Haider was named a fellow during 28th annual The International Conference on Technology in Collegiate Mathematics (ICTCM) conference held in Atlanta, Georgia. The designation recognizes faculty who have indicated a sustained effort using technology for teaching mathematics and implies a record of innovation, command, leadership, contributions and a long-term commitment to the ICTCM environment.

Elixer Press recently published English professor Lisa Bickmore’s poetry book “flicker.” Adjunct English instructor Eric Robertson won first prize in Utah Division of Arts & Museums' Utah Original Writing Competition in the novel category for "The Salted Earth."