Skip to main content

2012 Innovation of the Year Contest

The Innovation of the Year Contest is sponsored by Salt Lake Community College, in collaboration with the League for Innovation in the Community College. This annual contest recognizes employees for their creative excellence and celebrates ideas that inspire innovation in education and contribute to the College's Strategic Priorities.

The Center for Innovation is pleased to announce the winners of the
2013 “Innovation of the Year” Contest
“Innovation of the Year” Overall Winners
Volunteer Management Training Series
Sean Crossland, Gail Jessen, Gina Russo, Nicholina Womack, Julie Tille
Infusing Active and Collaborative Learning with e-Portfolio
Kati Lewis, David Hubert, Adam Dastrup, Suzanne Mozdy, Jason Pickavance,
Nelson Emeric & Jonathan Stowers
Excellence in Innovation Winners
Eccles Lab School Student Orientation
Utilizing Easily Accessible Technology to Provide Cost-Effective Instruction
Brandi Benson, Dale Smith, Sharlie Barber, Desi Ballard & Brian Hartmann
Recycling & Sustainability Initiative
Rand Webb, Troy Walker & Ed Benson
Adjunct Faculty Academy
Tamra Phillips, Mildred Sparks & Trisa Martin

The two “Innovation of the Year” overall winners will receive $3000 to advance their innovation, and one representative from each project team will be invited to present at the League for Innovation Conference in March 2014. The three “Excellence in Innovation” Award winners will receive $500 to advance their innovative work at the College.

A special “thank you” to the selection committee who evaluated this year’s proposals: Dave Bate, Curriculum Developer, FTLC; Desi Nielsen, President, Staff Association; Lorna Gwilliam, Administrative Assistant, Continuing Education; Bryan Griggs, Associate Dean, Visual Arts & Design; Gordon Dunne, Faculty, English; Deborah Smith, Faculty Senate Representative; Carlos Artiles-Fortun, Vice President, SLCCSA; Cathy Carey, Director, Center for Innovation.

Most importantly, thanks to all who submitted proposals to this year’s contest. Please continue to innovate and be on the lookout for projects to nominate for next year’s contest. This year’s winning proposals and details for next year’s contest will be posted at

Popular posts from this blog

College Planning for Students on Campuses this Fall

Students – we have greatly missed them in our classrooms and labs. We can’t wait to see them back on our campuses. But we want to see students return only with their health and safety as our highest priority.With that, our plan is to welcome students back in time for the start of this coming fall semester with in-person and, as always, a wide variety of online class offerings. We will continue to monitor guidelines issued by the state and the Utah System of Higher Education (USHE), and, if there are any changes to this plan, we will notify students immediately.USHE recently issued a press release with a COVID-19 update, which can be found here. For a full recap of USHE’s detailed plans, click here.USHE institutions, including SLCC, are currently working on what a return to campus will look and feel like this fall. Those details continue to evolve based on factors like “disease prevalence,” diagnostic testing supplies, contact tracing and the ability to provide “adequate” supplies of p…

Reopening SLCC

With most of Utah’s move to yellow status (low-risk) as it relates to the COVID-19 pandemic, many restrictions are being lifted across the state. As a result, SLCC is also making adjustments to its operations. Starting June 1, SLCC will officially move to yellow status, and throughout the month, the following changes will implemented:·All campus buildings will be open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday from June 1 to July 31. Evening hours will resume July 31.·Employees whose job responsibilities cannot be done remotely will be prioritized in returning to work starting June 8.·Department directors are establishing plans to safely and reasonably begin bringing people back to the workplace for on-campus, face-to-face operations at all SLCC locations starting June 8. Check with your supervisor for details.·Reasonable precautions will be implemented to keep employees and students safe while at SLCC. This includes frequent cleaning and sanitation of shared surfaces and availabilit…

SLCC Announces Soft Reopening of Some Services

Salt Lake Community College officials are pleased to report the college will resume some services with limited hours of operation and some restrictions at three campuses, starting May 18.College officials ask that the hour of 10-11 a.m. be reserved for “high-risk” population (*see criteria below) during the COVID-19 pandemic. The hours of 11 a.m. to 5 p.m. are open to the general public. Everyone is asked to wear masks, if possible, and continue to observe the necessity for social distancing.Taylorsville Redwood Campus·Cashiering·Bookstore·Admissions/Admissions Hub·Academic Advising·Financial Aid·Office of Registrar & Academic RecordsSouth City and Jordan campuses·Information Desk*The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention defines “high risk” as:·People 65 years and older·People who live in a nursing home or long-term care facility·People with underlying medical conditions that include:1.Chronic lung disease or moderate to severe asthma2.Serious heart conditions3.Immunocomprom…