Friday, November 9, 2018

Works from Local Artists Now on Display at SLCC President’s Art Show

Pictured: Curtis Larsen (l-r), artist Mitchell Lee (3rd Place), artist Clinton Whiting (Best In Show), SLCC President Deneece G. Huftalin and artist Chauncey Secrist (Community Award).

Salt Lake Community College is celebrating local artists during its annual President’s Art Show, open now through Nov. 16 at SLCC’s Center for Arts and Media Multipurpose room, South City Campus. Show hours are Monday through Thursday, 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. and Fridays from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

For this year’s show, 280 works were submitted by 195 Utah-based amateur and professional artists, including several SLCC alumni, students, faculty and staff. Winning entries were chosen from 95 juried pieces.

Art show winners were honored during an opening reception that took place Nov. 8. Artists Tyler Swain (President’s Award), Chauncey Secrist (Community Award), Clinton Whiting (Best in Show), Paul Adams (2nd Place) and Mitchell Lee (3rd Place) received cash awards ranging from $500 to $1,500. SLCC President Deneece G. Huftalin chooses the President’s Award winner each year, and this year’s Community Award winner was selected by Bonnie Phillips, co-owner of Phillips Gallery in Salt Lake City. First through third place prizes are selected by a panel of local artists, art administrators and curators.