Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Rawlings Announces 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award® Winners for NJCAA Student-Athletes

Rawlings in conjunction with the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) and the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) recently announced the 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award winners. The Rawlings Gold Glove has been the standard for outstanding defensive play in the Major Leagues for over half a century. 

In honor of the award's 50th Anniversary in 2007, the award expanded to the collegiate and high school levels. 

The collegiate and high school Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are awarded to nine players at each of the following levels: NCAA Divisions I, II, and III, Pacific Association, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II, III, and high school.

“Defense is the cornerstone of the Rawlings brand and we're excited that it's being recognized and rewarded at all levels of play,” said Rawlings President and General Manager Robert Parish. “The 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award recipients at the NJCAA level are incredibly talented and are well on their way to earning a place amongst the most famous defensive greats in the game.”

Nomination and voting for the Rawlings NJCAA Gold Glove Awards mirrors that of the NJCAA All-American Awards.  Coaches nominate players by contacting their regional director.  The selection process then culminates at the three divisions' national baseball tournaments. 

The 2012 NJCAA recipients of the Rawlings Gold Glove Award are as follows:

NJCAA Division I
Fielding %
Alec Asher
Polk State College, Fla.
Eric Hindman
Polk State College, Fla.
Casey James
Darton College, Ga.
First Base
Sam Bumpers
Iowa Western CC
Second Base
J.C. Snyder
Salt Lake CC, Utah
Third Base
Edward Figuerora
Lake Land College, Ill.
Tyler Booth
Central Arizona College
Roberto Olivera
Monroe College, N.Y.
Jordan Allen
Howard College, Texas